WELCOME TO THE REFERENCE SHELF
The Reference Shelf provides links to online resources that are useful for locating quick facts and basic information. Link titles followed by an asterisk (*) are limited to current MCLA students, faculty and staff and may require you to log in using your MCLANET/Email username and password. If you don’t find the answer you need here, please contact a Freel Librarian. Information on contacting us via phone, email, Twitter or the Ask Freel chat service are found here.
AREA CODES, PHONE NUMBERS & ZIP CODES
- AnyWho
- Area CodesUnited States and Canada
- International Phone Codes
- Zip Codes
CAREERS & RESUMES
- Get the Interview Every TIme *
- JobStar Central Salary Surveys
- JobStar Resume Resources
- National Compensation SurveyFrom the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
- O*NET OnLineOccupational Information Network sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor/Employment and Training Administration
- Occupational Outlook Handbook
CENSUS DATA & OTHER DEMOGRAPHICS
- American FactFinderU.S. Census Bureau
- MISERMassachusetts Institute for Social and Economic Research
- Pew Social Trends
- U.S. Census
COUNTRIES OF THE WORLD
- Background Notes/Country Fact Sheets - U.S. State Department
- CIA World Factbook *
- EUROPAOfficial web site of the European Union
- NationMasterComparative data from many countries
- United Nations
- World Bank
- World Flag Database
- World Health Organization
DICTIONARIES
- English Language
- American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language *
- American Heritage Guide to Contemporary Usage and Style *
- Merriam-Webster's DictionaryIncludes an audio function - you can hear the word pronounced.
- Roget's II The New Thesaurus *
- Languages Other Than English
- Browser's Dictionary of Foreign Words and Phrases *
- Collins French Dictionary Plus *
- Collins German Dictionary *
- Collins Italian Dictionary *
- Collins Spanish Dictionary *
GENERAL REFERENCE DATABASES
GOVERNMENT - FEDERAL, STATE & LOCAL
- govtrack.usBill tracking - Federal & State
- Massachusetts - Official Website
- North Adams Official Website
- Tax Forms & Publications - Federal
- Tax Forms & Publications - State
- THOMASFederal Legislative Information including Bill Tracking
- United State Congress
- USA.gov
MAPS
- Google Maps
- MapCrowDistance Calculator
- MapQuest
- Place NamesU.S. Geographic Survey
PUBLIC OPINION POLLS & MEDIA RATINGS
SCIENCE REFERENCE RESOURCES
- Computer File Extensions
- Measurement Conversion Calculators & Charts
- Periodic Table of Elements
- PubChemInformation on the biological activities of small molecules from the National Center for Biotechnology Information.

Loading...
