This is the "Home" page of the "Faculty & Staff Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Faculty & Staff Resources  

Last Updated: Apr 24, 2014 URL: http://mcla.libguides.com/facultyresources Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Quick Links

 

Chronicle of Higher Ed

Link to the Chronicle

MCLA subscribes to The Chronicle of Higher Education so you can access all content online. The Chronicle offers a couple of different ways to keep up with the news:

The Chronicle publishes a number of e-newsletters, all of which are free, including Academe Today, the daily report on the latest events in higher education. There are also free newsletters on technology, community colleges, and hiring.  And for those more interested in ideas rather than hard news, there is e Chronicle Review e-mail newsletters. All individuals have to do is create a free Chronicle account so that they can manage their e-mail settings online. There's a "create a free account" link at the top, left-hand site of every Chronicle Web page.

The Chronicle also publishes several news feeds in RSS (Really Simple Syndication), including daily news. Anyone can arrange to have RSS news feeds received at their desktop. RSS saves you from having to sign up for multiple e-mail newsletters, and bookmarking and visiting multiple web sites in order to stay current with the news one is interested in. For a listing of Chronicle RSS news feeds, go to the site map at http://chronicle.com/sitemap.

 

Find Books, Videos, Articles & More

Search for an item in MCLA WorldCat:

WorldCat.org >>

What is WorldCat?

 

Information for Faculty

Borrowing Materials From Freel Library:

Faculty may borrow Freel Library books for a semester. A valid MCLA ID card is required.

Borrowing Materials from Other Libraries:

For information on borrowing materials from other libraries, please click here. For information on interlibrary loan, see below.

Reserve Reading:

Faculty may place a reasonable number of items on reserve at the Freel Library circulation desk for student use. Students must use these items in the library and will need an ID to access them. These materials may be Freel Library books or media, personal copies or photocopies. They should not be items borrowed from other libraries. More information on placing items on reserve can be found here.  For further information, please contact Glenn Lawson at 662-5326 or by email

You may want to consider searching our electronic book collection, Ebrary, to fine items for your students to read. You can place links directly in Canvas to these books so that students can access them 24/7.

Database Searching:

The library subscribes to a number of online periodical databases that are available both on and off campus. From off-campus you will be prompted to enter your A number and password. This is your MCLANET account information, the same login you use to access FirstClass. Faculty with specific research requests are welcome to consult with member of the reference staff for advice or for an informal introduction to using the databases. Contact the reference desk at 662-5325.

Instructional Services:

The library offers instruction to individual students and classes in the use of academic resources. Because instructional space in the library is limited, the reference librarian usually visits the classroom. If that room does not provide Internet access, then the professor or librarian will attempt to find another available room that does. Internet access allows the librarian to demonstrate the use of the library catalog and other online databases. We believe that library instruction is more effective if students have been assigned a research project by their professor before the library class takes place. Instruction can then be tailored to needs of each class. We ask professors to schedule their classes with the reference librarian at least a week in advance.

Class Library Visits:

Professors who would like to bring in classes to use the library as a group are welcome. We encourage you to call ahead due to limited space and to make sure that a reference librarian is available, if needed.

 

Who to Call

To request books and videos for the collection - Maureen Horak 662-5322

For interlibrary loan requests: Linda Kaufmann 662-5325 or Pamela Contakos 662-5542

For questions about placing course materials on reserve - Glenn Lawson 662-5326

For research help - Linda Kaufmann 662-5325 or Pamela Contakos 662-5542

To request a classroom instructional visit - Linda Kaufmann 662-5325 or Pamela Contakos 662-5542

Questions about bicycles - Glenn Lawson 662-5326

 

Boston Public Library eResources

eResources available through the Boston Public Library

BPL eCards are virtual library cards that allow users immediate entry to all of Boston Public Library's remotely-accessible electronic resources, including magazine databases, downloadable audio, video, eBooks, and music.

All Massachusetts residents or those working in Massachusetts are eligible for a card. Click here to sign up for one.

Save your ecard number and PIN on your computer for quick access.

 

Interlibrary Loan

If you need research materials not available in Freel Library or the databases we subscribe to, we can usually borrow them from other libraries.  If you are looking for a book or a video, we recommend that you check the holdings of all the CWMARS member libraries first. If a member library has an available copy, you can submit an online request and the item will be delivered to Freel Library via a van delivery service. Click here to search the CWMARS catalog.

If the item you need is not available through CWMARS or is a journal article, you can submit a request through FirstClass, by phone, through campus mail or in person to Pamela Contakos or Linda Kaufmann.

Or you can search WorldCat (box to the left) and place a request by clicking on the interlibrary loan link.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Pamela Contakos
Contact Info
413-662-5542
Send Email

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Linda Kaufmann
Contact Info
413-662-5325
Send Email
 

Have a Question?

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

TXT your question
to 413-241-6662

Tweet your question
to @mclalibrary

Use our searchable FAQ

Freel Library, Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts, 375 Church Street, Suite 9250, North Adams, MA 01247 | Phone: 413-662-5321
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip