Banner Image

Finding Articles: Home

Frequently Used Research Databases

EBSCOhost  - full-text articles and citations on all subject areas, appropriate for all areas of research

JSTOR  - A collection of core scholarly journals in arts, humanities, general science and social sciences dating back to the late 17th century (journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 up to 1-5 years ago).

Films on Demand
- Over 11,000 quality documentary films in a wide range of subject areas.

Gale Databases
- full-text articles and citations on all subjects.

LexisNexis
- Over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications. Good resource for current news.

Reference Shelf with Credo Reference
- Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other tools for finding quick answers

Research Databases by Title or Subject

All Databases A-Z - If you are looking for a database by name (i.e. Academic Search Premier)

Databases by Subject - If you want to see which databases are best for your subject area

Biography Business Education
Environment Fine & Performing Arts General
Health & Medicine   History Law
Literature & Film News & Mass Media Philosophy & Religion
Psychology   Science & Technology Sociology

Search for a Journal Title

Searching for a Particular Journal Title?

Use this tool to locate a specific journal, or to find an article if you have a complete citation.


Google Scholar

Provides a way to find scholarly research using the familiar Google interface. Look for the Full-Text@MCLA links to direct you to articles in the library's research databases. Find more information on using Google Scholar here.

Google Scholar

Off-Campus Access

From off-campus you will be prompted for a username and password to access some resources. This is your MCLANET account information, the same login you use to access FirstClass.

Have a Question?

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

TXT your question
to 413-241-6662

Tweet your question
to @mclalibrary

Use our searchable FAQ

Freel Library, Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts, 375 Church Street, Suite 9250, North Adams, MA 01247 | Phone: 413-662-5321